Suspicious Disappearances, Goat Men, and Good Friends: Authors Kevin O'Brien and Garth Stein in Conversation

Join us for an online Crowdcast event with authors and long-time friends Kevin O'Brien (The Night She Disappeared) and Garth Stein (Cloven: Book One) discussing the writing life and their latest books. There will be an opportunity for questions from the audience! You can do us a favor by buying copies of our guest authors' books from The Book Stall--it's basic bookstore etiquette!  Register HERE for this free program!

About Kevin O'Brien: He grew up on Chicago’s North Shore, the youngest of six children, attended New Trier High School, and studied Journalism at Marquette University in Milwaukee. He moved to Seattle in 1980. Kevin's first thriller, The Next to Die became a USA Today Bestseller. Three more USA Today bestselling thrillers followed, and then The Last Victim hit the New York Times Bestseller list and won the Spotted Owl Award for Best Pacific Northwest Mystery. Kevin has continued to turn out New York Times best-selling thrillers, and his books have been translated into fourteen languages. He has served on the board of Seattle7Writers, and occasionally teaches writing classes at Hugo House (www.hugohouse.org).  He’s currently at work on his 23rd novel. 

About Garth Stein: He is a New York Times-bestselling author, filmmaker and playwright based in Seattle. He is the winner of several literary awards, including two PNBA Awards. The author of several plays and four novels, his book, The Art of Racing in the Rain, has sold over six million copies worldwide and been produced as a stage play, children's book, and a film. His other works include A Sudden LightHow Evan Broke His Head and Other SecretsRaven Stole the Moon, and a play, Brother Jones. Garth is the cofounder of Seattle7Writers.org, a nonprofit collective of Northwest authors dedicated to fostering a passion for the written word. 

About The Night She Disappeared by Kevin O'Brien: For fans of Gone Girl  and the works of Harlan Coben and Linwood Barclay--a gripping novel by New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Kevin O'Brien, in which "the other woman" becomes the prime suspect when the wife goes missing.

From the depths of sleep, Seattle TV reporter Anna Malone awakens to her phone ringing. She rarely drinks, and this hangover is brutal. Why can't she shake the feeling that something terrible happened last night? And why can't she recall any of it?

What Anna does remember: an awkward restaurant meal with her married lover, Russ Knoll, and his unsuspecting wife, Courtney. Russ's phone call reveals that Courtney is missing, and as days go by with no trace, he comes under police scrutiny. Anna's in the spotlight too, thanks to a TV rival with a grudge. Anna's not proud of her affair, but she and Russ aren't bad people. They're certainly not the killing kind. Anna already suspected that Courtney--a successful, charming author--might have a darker side. Is she truly missing? Perhaps the sudden disturbances in Anna's life aren't accidental after all. But no scenario that Anna imagines can compare to the twisted game unfolding around her, one chilling piece at a time...

About The Cloven Book One by Garth Stein:The Cloven Book One, a graphic novel, stars James Tucker, the most successful Genetically Modified Human Organism ever created. Conceived in a privately financed, top-secret laboratory on Washington state's Vashon Island, Tucker is a cross between a human and a goat -- a Cloven. Known to his friends as "Tuck," all he wants is to live a normal life as a university student; everything is going fine, until he shows a girl his hooves. Moody, mysterious, and atmospheric as a fever dream, The Cloven Book One follows Tuck's breakneck journey across the Pacific Northwest as he searches for his true home out there somewhere. 

"Wildly, dizzyingly imaginative, and grimly allegorical. It fairly 'bleats' with wry humor, and the art is spectacular. I can't wait for the next two installments!"--Erik Larson, New York Times bestselling author of The Devil in the White City

Event date: 

Thursday, August 26, 2021 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

Event address: 

Online Crowdcast event!
The Night She Disappeared Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780786045099
Availability: On Our Shelves Now--Subject to Availability
Published: Pinnacle Books - July 27th, 2021

For fans of Gone Girl or Harlan Coben and Linwood Barclay's domestic suspense--a gripping novel by New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Kevin O'Brien, in which "the other woman" becomes the prime suspect when the wife goes missing...


The Cloven: Book One Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781683963103
Availability: On Our Shelves Now--Subject to Availability
Published: Fantagraphics - July 28th, 2020

The author of the #1 New York Times bestseller The Art of Racing in the Rain and the co-creator of Stumptown, now a hit series on ABC TV, team up for an action-packed coming of age story about a mutant from the Pacific Northwest.