Storytime with Jacob Grant and Barb Rosenstock at Glenview Community Church

We are so pleased to be partnering with the Glenview Community Church's Speaker's Forum to present a special storytime with Book Stall favorites Jacob Grant and Barb Rosenstock. at 10 AM on Saturday, Nov. 2nd at the Glenview Community Church, 1000 Elm Street in Glenview. Jacob (Bear's Scare, Bear Out There) will read and draw for our audience, and Barb will present her new picture book biography on Frank Lloyd Wright, Prairie Boy!  Jacob's reading at 10 is aimed at kids ages 3- 5, and Barb's talk at 10:30 is recommended for kids ages 5 - 8. Thius event is free and open to the public!

Jacob Grant is the author and illustrator of Scaredy KateLittle Bird's Bad Word, Cat Knit, Bear's Scare, and Bear Out There. He is a winner of the annual Don Freeman Work In-Progress Grant by the SCBWI. Jacob lives in Chicago with his family. Discover more at www.jacobgrantbooks.com.

Praise for Bear's Scare:

"This tale about friendship and overcoming prejudices . . . will be enjoyed at storytime and as a subtle introduction to accepting others." --School Library Journal

"Ideal for beginning readers. A sweet, feel-good story with plenty of interesting visual detail." --Kirkus Reviews

Barb Rosenstock is the author of many picture book biographies, including Blue Grass Boy: The Story of Bill Monroe, Father of Bluegrass MusicThomas Jefferson Builds a LibraryDorothea's EyesBen Franklin's Big Splash; and The Streak: How Joe DiMaggio Became America's Hero. Her picture book on Vasily Kandinsky, The Noisy Paint Box, won the 2015 Caldecott Honor Medal.

Praise for Prairie Boy:

"An obsession with shapes serves as a leitmotif as Frank Lloyd Wright (1867-1959) grows to be a master architect... Neal's stylized illustrations are geometrically anchored, with crisp lines and shapes that occasionally echo Wright's signature patterning, and the earnest, informative narrative centers the subject's relatable interests. Substantial supplemental materials include an author's note, sources, and multiple photos of his work." -- Publishers Weekly

'This picture-book biography captures how Frank Lloyd Wright revolutionized the American home. Lyrical text recalls Wright's early passion for architecture and his desire to break away from the old European-style houses he felt didn't match the American landscape. Digitally enhanced mixed-media artwork not only reflects colors that match Wright's moods and physical locales, but also uses geometric shapes to embody his concepts. This look at Wright's creative process will inspire children to take notice of their surroundings." -- Booklist

"In this picture book biography of architect Frank Lloyd Wright, Rosenstock emphasizes the development of Wright's unique architectural vision... instead of focusing on specific buildings Wright created, this book highlights the roots of his thinking... an excellent introduction to the ideas behind Wright's architecture." -- School Library Journal

Event date: 

Saturday, November 2, 2019 - 10:00am to 11:00am

Event address: 

Glenview Community Church
1000 Elm Street
Glenview, IL 600
Bear Out There Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781681197456
Availability: On Our Shelves Now--Subject to Availability
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - June 4th, 2019

Bear and Spider are back in another charming odd-couple friendship story, perfect for fans of Peter Brown and Greg Pizzoli.

Bear's favorite place is inside. He loves sharing his tidy home with his friend Spider. Spider loves the outdoors!

When Spider's kite flies away, Bear must venture out and into the messy forest to help his friend.


Prairie Boy: Frank Lloyd Wright Turns the Heartland into a Home Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781629794402
Availability: On Our Shelves Now--Subject to Availability
Published: Calkins Creek - September 10th, 2019

In this book about Frank Lloyd Wright for kids, young readers will learn all about America's first world-famous architect.


The Noisy Paint Box: The Colors and Sounds of Kandinsky's Abstract Art Cover Image
By Barb Rosenstock, Mary GrandPre (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780307978486
Availability: On Our Shelves Now--Subject to Availability
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - February 11th, 2014

A Caldecott Honor Book

Vasya Kandinsky was a proper little boy: he studied math and history, he practiced the piano, he sat up straight and was perfectly polite. And when his family sent him to art classes, they expected him to paint pretty houses and flowers—like a proper artist.