Keep Moving: Notes on Loss, Creativity, and Change -- A FAN Webinar with Maggie Smith and Megan Stielstra

When Maggie Smith, the author of the viral poem “Good Bones,” started writing daily Twitter posts in the wake of her divorce, they unexpectedly caught fire. She was surprised yet deeply gratified by the outpouring of heartfelt responses that she received. Now, in Keep Moving: Notes on Loss, Creativity, and Change, Ms. Smith gives her readers a deeply moving book of quotes and essays, writing about new beginnings as opportunities for transformation. This is a book for anyone who has gone through a difficult time and is wondering: What comes next?  For this FAN webinar, Ms. Smith will be in conversation with Megan Stielstra, author of The Wrong Way to Save Your Life, named the 2017 Book of the Year by the Chicago Review of Books. Register for this free event HERE.

For fans of Anne Lamott and Cleo Wade, Keep Moving is a collection of quotes and essays on facing life’s challenges with creativity, courage, and resilience.  Maggie Smith is the author of several books of poetry including Good Bones, The Well Speaks of Its Own Poison, and Lamp of the Body. A 2011 recipient of a Creative Writing Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts, she has also received several Individual Excellence Awards from the Ohio Arts Council, two Academy of American Poets Prizes, a Pushcart Prize, and fellowships from the Sustainable Arts Foundation and the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts. Follow her on Twitter @maggiesmithpoet.

Megan Stielstra is the author of Once I Was Cool and Everyone Remain Calm. Her work has appeared in The Best American Essays, the New York TimesChicago TribuneGuernicaBuzzFeedThe Rumpus, and elsewhere. She teaches creative nonfiction at Northwestern University. Follow her on Twitter @meganstielstra.
 
This event will be recorded and available later on the FAN website and YouTube channel.

BONUS AFTER-HOURS EVENT: Attendees who purchase a copy of Smith's book Keep Moving or Stielstra's The Wrong Way to Save Your Life from The Book Stall are invited to attend an AFTER-HOURS event hosted by Smith and Stielstra that will start immediately after the webinar. See the links below!

NOTE: The link to register for the AFTER-HOURS will appear in red font at the top of your email receipt from The Book Stall. Please look for it!

There's been enormous praise for Keep Moving:

A Poet for Times of Trouble.” —The Wall Street Journal

Keep Moving speaks to you like an encouraging friend reminding you that you can feel and survive deep loss, sink into life’s deep beauty, and constantly, constantly make yourself new.” —Glennon Doyle, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Love Warrior and Untamed

“Poet Maggie Smith offers wise, luminous advice on dealing with loss and turmoil in a collection of meditations and essays.”  -Shelf Awareness

“Powerful essays on loss, endurance, and renewal.” –People 

"It’s in these essays that Smith exerts her superpower as a writer: her ability to find the perfect concrete metaphor for inchoate human emotions and explore it with empathy and honesty."  —Slate

"Keep Moving [...] is a meditation on kindness and hope, and how to move forward through grief."  —NPR

 

 

Event date: 

Sunday, October 18, 2020 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm

Event address: 

Online Zoom webinar!
Keep Moving: Notes on Loss, Creativity, and Change Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781982132071
Availability: On Our Shelves Now--Subject to Availability
Published: Atria/One Signal Publishers - October 6th, 2020

“A meditation on kindness and hope, and how to move forward through grief.” —NPR

“A shining reminder to learn all we can from this moment, rebuilding ourselves in the darkness so that we may come out wiser, kinder, and stronger on the other side.” —The Boston Globe

“It’s in these essays that Smith exerts


The Wrong Way to Save Your Life: Essays Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062429209
Availability: On Our Shelves Now--Subject to Availability
Published: Harper Perennial - August 1st, 2017

From an important new American writer comes this powerful collection of personal essays on fear, creativity, art, faith, academia, the Internet, and justice.